What's the difference between a bratwurst and an italian sausage?

A bratwurst, or Brat, is a type of sausage. It is a German Sausage made of pork, beef, or veal and seasonings, traditionally with a natural casing. Italian sausages are usually made from beef, sometimes pork, and seasonings. They can easily be substituted with each other.