Who invented the girdle?

No one person invented the girdle. The clothing probably got its start with the hip-confiners worn over corsets in the 1900s. In the 1910s, a manufacturer called Treo first called their device a girdle. It was a flexible, Para rubber corset without laces, rather like our modern girdles.