Who is edward de vere?

Edward de Vere was the 17th earl of Oxford. A well-educated aristocrat and courtier in Elizabethan England, he wrote lyric poetry and patronized theater. For those who believe that Shakespeare did not write the plays attributed to him, de Vere is a prime candidate for authorship of the plays.