What is the difference between coal and charcoal?

The difference is charcoal is produced by the slow-burning of carbonaceous materials. Coal is a naturally occurring fossil fuel. Also, Coal produces more heat than charcoal and is used for heating industrial systems and steam generation while charcoal produces just enough heat for domestic purposes.