Why does alcohol cause hiccups?

Alcohol itself does not directly cause hiccups, nevertheless the consumption of alcohol can indeed lead to some of their most common triggers. Hiccups can become more likely when drinking alcohol with carbonated beverages or drinking at a faster rate.