What's a good substitute for american cheese?

Using a mild cheese like Colby will get you closest to the American cheese you remember from childhood, but feel free to play around with something sharper if you wish. Cheddar makes an assertive substitution, but stay close to the semisoft family of cheeses; the harder, crumblier stuff won't work.