Why does water have no taste?

Physical properties of a compound, such as color, taste, touch etc. depend on its pH factor. The pH further depends upon the concentration of H+ and OH- ions in that compound. Water has equal concentrations of H+ and OH- ions. Thus, it has neither sour nor a bitter taste, and hence is tasteless.