How did the bobby pin get its name?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus after World War I, and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the, "bob cut", or "bobbed hair" took hold. Although Marcus thought about naming the pin after himself, he named them bobby after the bobbed hairstyle.