How do you build a bridge in animal crossing new horizons?

After playing Animal Crossing for a few days, Tom Nook will suggest you build a bridge across a river on the island. Once enough bells are collected at the bridge site, the bridge will be built the next day. After that, you can ask Tom Nook to help you build another.