Who were the musketeers?

Although d'Artagnan is not able to join this elite corps, befriended by 3 of the most formidable musketeers of the age – Athos, Porthos and Aramis, "the three inseparables" – and becomes involved in affairs of state and at court. The Three Musketeers is primarily a historical and adventure novel.