What's the difference between fried and sauted?

Pan-frying has a little more fat and lower heat to brown food that may need a longer cooking time. Sautéing is essentially tossing food in a very hot pan. Done right, vegetables get a tinge of color and stay slightly crisp, and meats get brown but stay moist.