What does a quarter till mean?

A quarter till means 15 minutes until the top of the hour or 45 minutes past the current hour. When stating the current time, Sixty-minute hours are often divided into quarter intervals. Examples are a quarter after, half past or a quarter till the top of the hour.

---

A quarter til means 15 minutes before the hour. A quarter til nine means 8:45 or 15 minutes before 9.