Is a crab an insect?

Though sometimes similar in appearance, crabs are not insects but are decapod crustaceans.

---

Crabs and crayfish are crustaceans, a subdivision of arthropods – the large group of animals without backbones (invertebrates) that includes insects, spiders, mites, scorpions and springtails. Arthropods have jointed legs and a hard outer shell that acts as a skeleton.