Why do dogs bite their foot?

There are several reasons why a dog may chew their paws. Here are some of the most common reasons. Dry skin and wounds. Also, Skin growths can cause discomfort on paws. Burrs or ticks lead dogs to lick until the offending item is removed. Anxiety can also cause obsessive chewing issues.