Why did mark harmon leave n. c. i. s.?

Because after 18 seasons and extra episodes, he was ready to quit the character and the story. You cannot do a television show forever.

---

Mark Harmon's contract for the 19th season called for his role to be "limited." He remains as a producer and the showrunner indicates no one should count him out - he's just retired.