What kind of car is kit from knight rider?

The car used as KITT in the series was a customized 1982 Pontiac Firebird sports model, that cost US$100,000 to build (equivalent to about $265,690.35 in 2019). The Nose, dash and other interior of the car were designed by the design consultant Michael Scheffe.

---

In the original TV series, KITT is a Pontiac Firebird Trans Am. Later in the 2008 reboot, which was sponsored by Ford, KITT is a Ford Shelby GT500KR Mustang who could disguise as a Ford F-150 FX4 pickup truck, Ford E-150 van, Ford Flex, Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor, or 1969 Mach 1 Mustang.