What kind of car is kit from knight rider?

The car used as KITT in the series was a customized 1982 Pontiac Firebird sports model, that cost US$100,000 to build (equivalent to about $265,690.35 in 2019). The Nose, dash and other interior of the car were designed by the design consultant Michael Scheffe.