How much is a cup in grams?

In US measurements a cup of water equals 236.6 grams. Because of their density, other liquids, solids, and dry ingredients will vary by quite a bit, so a recipe in grams will always be more accurate and reliable than a recipe in cups.

---

The number of grams in a cup varies based upon the ingredient because the cup is a unit of volume and the gram is a unit of weight. For example, 1 cup of flour is equal to around 125 grams, and 1 cup of sugar is equal to around 200 grams.