When was the bobby pin invented?

The bobby pin was invented by cosmetics manufacturer Luis Marcus. It was widely used by the late 1910s. Short, bobbed hair was popular. The clip was used to hold the short hair, and got the nickname bobby pin.

---

The bobby pin was invented in the 19th century by Luis Marcus. Marcus was a cosmetics manufacturer based out of San Francisco