How long do you cook a salmon fillet?

Preheat oven to 425 with a rack in the middle. Line a roasting pan or baking sheet with foil. Pat with paper towel. Roast for 4 to 6 minutes per half-inch thickness of salmon. 4 minutes will give you salmon that is still a touch rare, 6 minutes will thoroughly cook it. It is done when flaky.