Which is bigger buffalo or bison?

A bison, from North America and Europe, is larger and heavier, hence bigger, than a Cape buffalo or water buffalo which is native to Africa and Asia. A bison has a bigger head and a large shoulder hump, and has a shaggy fur coat that grows thick around its head and neck during the winter.