How do you season a cast iron grill?

Wash the cast iron grill with soap and dry it thoroughly. Spread on a thin layer of vegetable oil. Put in the oven upside down and bake for an hour at 375 degrees. Use a baking tray and foil on the bottom rack to catch drips.