When was decaf coffee invented?

Decaf coffee came from a German merchant in 1906. Ludwig Roselius believed his father had died from too much caffeine, and searched for a way to remove the “poison” from coffee beans. He discovered a method by accident after a shipment of coffee beans become soaked in seawater.