What are live cultures in yogurt?

The phrase live cultures in yogurt refer to the bacterias Lactobacillus bulgaricus, and Streptococcus thermophilus. These organisms convert pasteurized milk to yogurt during fermentation.

---

Live yogurt cultures are bacteria Lactobacillus bulgaricus, Streptococcus thermophilus, Bifidobacterium animalis/bifidum/lactis/ and longum, Enterococcus faecium, Lactobacillus acidophilus/casei/delbrueckii/johnsonii/gasseri/plantarum/and rhamnosus, and Saccharomyces boulardii.