Why do hurricane spin?

Hurricanes spin due to the Coriolis effect. Close to the equator, the surface of the earth spins faster than it does near the poles (much like the speed at the outer edge of a merry-go-round is faster than the center). This makes storms spin right in the Northern hemisphere and left to the south.