Why are there so many moths?

There are a lot of moths for the same reason that there are a lot of other insects like flies and crickets. First, they serve as food for a lot of other animals, so it's important that there are a lot of them. Second, the mother moth lays about 50 eggs at a time, so there are a lot hatching out.