What was the number one box office movie in nineteen sixty two?

Number 1 in 19 62 was 20th Century Fox release, The Longest Day, which sold 55.8 million tickets, far ahead of the number 2, Sony Pictures, Lawrence of Arabia which sold 47.4 million.