How do you draw an ellipse?

With the compasses' point on the center, set the compasses' width to half the width (major axis) of the desired ellipse. (This is called the ellipse semimajor axis). 2. Move the compasses' point to one end of the minor axis of the desired ellipse and draw two arcs across the major axis.