Why did the ukrainian revolution start?

Protesters opposed what they saw as widespread government corruption and abuse of power, the influence of oligarchs, police brutality, and violation of human rights in Ukraine. Protests continued for months; their scope widened, with calls for the resignation of Yanukovych and the Azarov Government.