How many cells does a tardigrade have?

Tardigrades are eutelic, meaning all adult tardigrades of the same species have the same number of cells. Some species have as many as 40,000 cells in each adult, while others have far fewer. Tardigrades can be found in many habitats: in moss, freshwater, the Himalayas, and the ocean.