Who sang green green grass of home in nineteen sixty six?

"Green, Green Grass of Home", written by Claude "Curly" Putman Jr. and 1st recorded by singer Johnny Darrell, is a country song originally made popular by Porter Wagoner in 1965, when it reached No. 4 on the country chart. Tom Jones version was a worldwide No. 1 hit in 1966.