How did the tar heels get their name?

Tar Heel is a nickname applied to the U.S. state of North Carolina. ... The origins of the Tar Heel nickname trace back to North Carolina's prominence in the mid 18th and 19th centuries as a producer of turpentine, tar, and other materials from the state's plentiful pine trees.