How do you melt butter without a microwave?

Stir the butter pieces with a wooden spoon until they are fully melted. Double boil: You can also melt butter on a double boiler if you are concerned about burning the butter. Put small pieces of butter in a heat-safe bowl over a pot of boiling water and stir the butter until it is melted.