Why is breakdancing called breakdancing?

Breakdancing, or b-boying as it is more appropriately known as, is known to have its roots in the east coast and was heavily influenced by break beats and hip hop." "Break dancing is a term created by the media! ... "When someone says break dancing, we correct them and say it's b-boying."