What can you tell me about the national coin shortage?

The United States coin shortage occurred during the Coronavirus pandemic of 2020 to the present because the US Mint shuttered like many other businesses, reducing the amount of coins in circulation. Many retailers also refused to accept coins over concerns of COVID and surfaces.