How do you keep a cat away from a christmas tree?

Cats naturally hate the scent of oranges, so keep orange peels under the tree to repel your cat. If its a plastic tree, a small amount of Citronella oil shaken into a bottle of water and misted on to the tree makes it smell unpleasant to the cat but fresh and citrus-like to you.