Is p. d. james still living?

Sadly, P.D. James - or more formally, Phyllis Dorothy James White, Baroness James of Holland Park - the British mystery novelist best known for her fictional detective Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard - died on November 27, 2014 in Oxford England.