Why did caesar cross the rubicon?

Julius Caesar's crossing the Rubicon river was an event in January 49 BC that precipitated the Roman Civil War, which ultimately led to Caesar becoming dictator and the rise of the imperial era of Rome. .Today, the phrase "crossing the Rubicon" is a metaphor that means to pass a point of no return