Why are there no snakes in hawaii?

Snakes are illegal in Hawaii. They have no natural predators here and pose a serious threat to Hawaii's environment, because they compete with native animal populations for food and habitat. Many species also prey on birds and their eggs, increasing the threat to endangered native birds.