Does velveeta cheese need to be refrigerated?

Velveeta cheese is a "cheese product," and not a real cheese. Therefore it does not need to be refrigerated.

---

Velveeta should be refrigerated once it is open, but there is no reason to refrigerate it while it is sealed.