What's the difference between a tornado watch and warning?

A tornado watch means there is a possibility of a tornado. A tornado warning means a tornado has been spotted.

---

The difference between a tornado watch and a tornado warning means the difference between taking action or taking precautions. A watch means that conditions are favorable for a tornado to occur. A warning means that a tornado has been seen or picked up by radar.