Why do orchids lose their flowers?

Your orchid's flowers are likely falling off because the plant is finished blooming. The orchid is about to enter a hibernation period where it will rest before blooming again. Other reasons for flowers dropping include overwatering, underwatering, lack of sunlight and too much sun.