What are the indentations on a golf ball called?

Indentations on GolfBalls are DIMPLES. GolfBalls' dimples reduce drag&create lift. Dimples create a thin turbulent air layer that clings to a ball's surface&travels further around back of the ball, decreasing wake, thus drag. Typically 300to450 DIMPLES on new PREMIUM GolfBalls in2021. GolfMagic.com.