What is considered deep sleep?

Deep sleep, or Stage 3 sleep, is the deepest stage of sleep and follows REM sleep. During deep sleep, brain waves resemble a delta pattern, muscles relax, and the breathing rate slows, setting the stage for growth and healing. About 15 to 20 percent of our nights should be spent in deep sleep.