What was the first card game invented?

The first reference to a card game in world history dates no later than the 9th Century, when writer Su E, described Princess Tongchang (daughter of Emperor Yizong of Tang) playing the “leaf game” in 868AD with members of the Wei clan (the family of the princess’ husband).