When do birds fly?

Fledglings usually begin trying to fly when the birds are about two weeks old, and although they have started to leave the nest, they are not on their own, according to the Massachusetts Audubon Society.

---

Birds fly as their primary mode of transportation. The time taken for a baby bird to learn to fly from being born varies, but it is generally between 10 days and 3 weeks.