What's the speed of sound like?

Sound only can propagate through an elastic medium, like air or water. There is no sound in empty space. The speed of sound in dry air at room temperature is about 770 miles per hour, or 1,240 kilometers per hour. That means it covers a mile in about 4.7 seconds, or a kilometer in about 2.9 seconds.