Where are hippos from?

Two hippo species are found in Africa. The common hippo (also known as the large hippo), is found in East Africa. The other much smaller species of hippo is the pygmy hippopotamus. Limited to very restricted ranges in West Africa, it is a shy, solitary forest dweller, and is now endangered.