What year did the twin towers get hit?

On September 11, 2001, 19 militants associated with the Islamic extremist group al-Qaida hijacked four airplanes and carried out suicide attacks against targets in the United States. Two of the planes were flown into the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York City.

---

The twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York were destroyed on September 11, 2001.