What's a piranha plant?

Piranha Plant is a recurring enemy in the Mario Smash Brothers series. It is a Venus fly trap-like enemy, almost always portrayed as a leafy green stalk topped with a white-spotted red head, bisected by a white lip mouth with sharp teeth.