Who wrote death and taxes?

Benjamin Franklin, in a letter to Jean-Baptiste Le Roy in 1789, wrote the famous quote “Our new Constitution is now established, and has an appearance that promises permanency; but in this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.”